Ophioglossum Pendulum in the Marshall Islands

Ophioglossum pendulum L. was reported from a number of Pacific Islands by St. John (Bishop Mus. Occ. Pap. 17: 177-182, 1943), but was omitted from the Marshall Islands, although a dubious record from Mille (Mili) Atoll was mentioned. St. John remarks that the species is unknown on the atolls and low coral islands of Micronesia, and the Mili Atoll record was passed over on the basis of probable error. It is now possible to substantiate the Marshall Islands record, although by different atolls. This however makes probable, rather than improbable, the Mili Atoll record. The species was collected in Namorik Atoll, Marshall Islands, by the writer in 1956; the specimen (Stone 997) is deposited in the Bishop Museum. The same species was also collected on nearby Ebon Atoll, but was lost along with a large bundle of specimens from Ebon, which were dropped in a loading accident. However, independent observation of the species on Ebon is provided by Dr. Richard S. Cowan, who was in Ebon some ten years earlier. Unfortunately no specimens were collected by him. Ebon and Namorik are the southernmost atolls of the Marshalls group, in a region much wetter than the northern atolls. Mili is a relatively short distance away. The vegetation is lush for an atoll in this area, and contains a number of plants which require high humidity and abundant rainfall, such as Peperomia, Procris pedunculata, and Vittaria elongata. The distribution of Ophioglossum pendulum should thus be revised to include two and perhaps three atolls of the Marshall Islands.

> BENJAMIN C. STONE College of Guam

The Micronesian Academy of Science. Through the effort of several interested individuals a new organization representing the sciences in Micronesia has recently been founded. Members are drawn primarily from Guam and the U. S. Trust Territory Islands, and from that group of persons which have some scientific interest in the Micronesian region, regardless of their present residence. A preliminary meeting was held in the spring of 1963, and the first charter meeting was held on September 15, 1963. The officers elected were: President, Benjamin C. Stone, College of Guam; Vice-President, Robert P. Owen, Palau District, Trust Territory; Secretary, Terry A. McGowan, Guam Department of Agriculture, Fish and Wildlife Service; Treasurer, Isaac Ikehara, Guam Department of Agriculture, Fish and Wildlife Service; and Editor, Byron W. Bender, Trust Territory. Three meetings have been held so far, featuring a program of a scientific nature. At the first meeting, Dr. Albert J. Hendricks, College of Guam, spoke on the functions and responsibilities of an Academy of science. At the second meeting, a panel of four speakers read papers on the general topic, "Research Possibilities in Micronesia"; the speakers were Dr. Dwayne Reed, of 156 Micronesica

the National Institutes of Health; Dr. Chris Plato, N.I.H.; Dr. Robert McKnight, U. S. Trust Territory; and Dr. B. C. Stone, College of Guam. At the third meeting a panel of four speakers spoke on topics relating to the economy of Guam. Featured were Isaac Ikehara; Charles Mason, College of Guam; Derrald Livingston, College of Guam; and Walter S. Wilson, College of Guam. The final meeting of this session concludes with the address of the outgoing president.

The Constitution of the Academy follows. Present membership numbers 46.